top of page

Author Interview: with Roland Page

Interview with AuthorOrlando Page

 

First what is the title of your book and the synopsis?

The novel is "Eating the Forbidden Fruit" and it's loosely based on my previous career as a St.Louis police officer convicted of federal crimes due to my childhood and family affiliation. A tale of karma, confession, and redemption.

So is the novel a autobiography and the characters are actually real people?

Well I categorized it as a fiction novel to protect the privacy and lives of the characters involved. Some of the characters are identified as their actual name with their permission. However my story isn't to bash anyone. It's actually focus on my demise and faults.

How would you describe the book is it a gangster or crime novel?

It's a fusion of urban crime, drama, humor =, and romance all in one. I take the reader on a journey of my life searching for answers how I fell from grace.

Do you mind discussing the crime you were convicted of?

I was charged and convicted of Drug Trafficking and Distribution of Cocaine. It was a matter of conspiracy and affiliation of friend and family member indulging in unsavory acts. I don't focus on the criminal element however I narrate how how unethical behavior can lead to criminal acts.

Did the media portray you as a corrupt cop?

Definitely. I didn't take it personal that's their job. When the public hears about a law enforcement officer being locked up. They tend to think "Corrupt Cop". That wasn't the case with me. I never used my career to conduct any crime. Now I do admit I didn't have the commitment to be a officer. A commission officer is obligated to act or report any crime regardless of who. Even a family member that's were the conflict of I had. My loyalty will always be with my family rather right or wrong. I won't condone unethical acts but I'm not going serve my family to no one. Family who been in my life and corner through thick and thin.

What compelled you to write your story?

I was a famed tattooist for Black Pearl in downtown St. Louis. Ten years ago I was diagnosed with Lupus hindering my hand motor skills. I went into a deep depression. So my wife and kids encouraged me to seek another passion. I started writing which became a natural for me. A trade off of visual art to literary art. It's not about the fame or money. I did this for my own spiritual accomplishment.

When is it being released?

Target release date is March 2020. You can stay updated @ http://www.authorrolandpage.com

Featured Posts

/ RECENT POSTS

/ Archive
bottom of page