top of page

Author Interview: with Cheryl Esposito

Interview

with Cheryl Esposito

What drove you to the field of writing? I enjoy writing because I can share my experiences with others. In doing so, I hope to provide others with direction and support. Life isn't easy. By knowing someone else is going through, or has gone through, something similar to what is written in a non-fiction story, it can give hope that there is a light at the end of a tunnel or shed a different perspective on a situation. I truly believe by sharing positive outcomes with others it can truly change and lift a person who feels hopeless. Not only that, but it can change the lives of the ones impacted around us. Life is about truly knowing who you are and believing in yourself while not allowing negativity to bring you down.

What do you think makes a good book, whether fiction or non-fiction? I think a good book has a reason and a purpose with a excellent story to go along with it. In my eyes the beginning of the book needs to draw you in to the characters. You need to build a reporte with them. The middle of the book needs to be directional that leads into the suspense, and the end of the book needs to leave you with a very strong emotion connected to the characters. I prefer happy endings though.

What is the hardest part about writing? The hardest part about writing for me is the fluidity of it. A lot of times, I cannot type as fast as my thoughts are coming out and I forget about a piece I wanted to add in. I have learned to tape record a thought so I can use it later. Except, by the time I am ready to add it in, it doesn't really apply to that particular book so I leave the note to maybe use in a different book later.

What is your favorite part of writing a book? My favorite part of writing a book is the amount of detail each character needs to have. When writing you really need to picture the story as you are writing it: each characters detail, each scene's detail. Even the little things in the background need to be elaborated on to enhance the story. Although if you asked me if I was a detailed person, I will always say no.

What is one piece of advice you'd give to aspiring authors? One piece of advice I would give to aspiring authors is to never give up. When you start second guessing your work, take a break. Give it time to resonate and go back to it. You will usually try to change the direction of the story but stick with it and don't rush it. You may end up using all of your ideas in one story or saving some for book number 2 or 3.

 

Featured Posts

/ RECENT POSTS

/ Archive
bottom of page