top of page

Author Interview: with Adele M. Lim

Author Interview

with Adele Lim

Tell us a little about yourself. Where were you raised? Where do you live now? Do you have any pets?

I was born in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. I moved to the UK in 2006. Currently I am based in London and live in Hertfordshire with my daughter.

At what age did you realize your fascination with books? When did you start writing?*

I fell in love with books at 7, with Enid Blyton. I grew up reading her books, alongside Nancy Drew, Christopher Pike, Sidney Sheldon and Stephen King. My first ever article, I wrote when I was at 8 years or so. My mum discovered an egg within an egg and I remember being so fascinated by it that I wished someone would feature this in the newspaper. I decided to take it to hand - I created my own newspaper, wrote a story about the egg, and pinned the newspaper on my wall! Then I surprised myself at the age of 10, when I received an award from the Commonwealth Essay Writing competition that I entered as part of my English class. When I entered secondary school, my English teacher Anne James, inspired me to expand my perspective on writing, to find my own voice in the sea of voices, and to have courage to put it out there. At 16, my first newspaper article was published, and I got accepted onto a young journalists boot camp. Despite that, I decided to further my studies in a different field, and kept writing as an integral part of me.

Who are your favorite authors to read? What is your favorite genre to read. Who Inspires you in your writings?

While I enjoy reading fiction growing up, in high school, I began to pick up non-fiction. I found reading self-help books very rewarding. I loved reading Dale Carnegie, Jack Canfield, Tony Robbins, Stephen Covey, Brian Tracy, Robert Kiyosaki, M. Scott Peck, Malcolm Gladwell, Elizabeth Gilbert, Brene Brown, Lynn McTaggart and Daniel Pink.

Do you have a Facebook page?

http://facebook.com/wholecapacity

Twitter Account?

http://twitter.com/ourawesomegang http://twitter.com/a whole capacity

What is the name of your latest book and what inspired it?

The Lovingspace Children’s Books series consists of three books: 1. H.O.M.E. is where L.O.V.E. brightly speaks 2. Many Lands, One Bridge 3. The Adventure of Friendship

They are inspired by my daughter, who narrates in her sense making, with whom I discover new ways in which to grow together.

The book for adults is Love with Passion and Perspective: Pearls from a cross border divorce and the Hague Convention.

Do you have any unusual writing habits?

I don’t know if it’s unusual... I find great notes coming through my half awake state in the wee hours of the morning when I wake up. I type into my phone whenever a line / sentence comes through.

What are you working on now?

My first fiction.

What is your best method or website when it comes to promoting your books?

I am new at marketing my own book, and am doing this through social media. I have found Instagram to be good in terms of its wide reach, I did not analyse conversion so cannot tell what’s the best.

Do you have any advice for new authors?

Never compare or benchmark with other authors. Your voice is one of a kind. Use it.

What is the best advice you have ever heard?

It’s a creative process with its own timing and the journey of writing itself is the biggest part of the book.

What are you reading now?

What We Ache For by Oriah Mountain Dreamer

What's next for you as a writer?

Screenwriting and songwriting

What is your favorite book of all time?

I struggle with this question all the time, I still cannot answer this, perhaps not just yet!

Link To Book On Amazon:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Books-Adele-Lim/s?ie=UTF8&page=1&rh=n%3A266239%2Cp_27%3AAdele%20Lim

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Many-Lands-One-Bridge-Adele/dp/1912145669

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Love-Passion-Perspective-cross-border-Convention/dp/0997572787

 

Featured Posts

/ RECENT POSTS

/ Archive
bottom of page