top of page

Author Interview: with Omni Delano

#SAMagazine, #SAMNews and #StarvingArtista Blogazine are excited to announce our guest for #SoBookphoric and #NOVELECTASY column(s)' guest - Omni! Ms. Delano penned Lilly's Awakening, a romantic, fantastical thriller now available on Amazon.com.

You can preview Omni's interview with #StarvingArtistMagazine (print Edition) on May 5th. Unfortunately, due to technical difficulties the original May 2nd date had to be pushed ahead, however, rest assured here, we will share the transcript. You can get the full book spotlight, author interview, and review on SAM's official news-site, May 5th, HERE.

Author Interview

with Oni Delano

Welcome Omni!

Tell us a little about yourself. Where were you raised? Where do you live now? Do you have any pets?

My name is Omni, and yes, I love my name. I was born, raised, and still live in the Tulsa area of Oklahoma, even though I moved around a lot as a child. I have three teenagers who consistently make me proud to be their mom. We have two pit bulls, one a rescue and the other an 18yr old who thinks he’s still my lapdog puppy (which he is). We also have a cat and a rabbit, they can both be little assholes sometimes but we love them anyway. Since I am unable to work a traditional job, I became a caregiver for my grandfather and an author.

At what age did you realize your fascination with books? When did you start writing?

I started reading at a very young age and never stopped. I have always loved writing little stories or poems but growing up I more often had a new book in my hands (or inside my text books). It wasn’t until I got sick that I really began my writing journey, so it was one of those blessings in disguise.

So, really quick before we move forward, just tell us a bit more about you:

I love to spend as much spare time as I can at the lake or out camping and floating the river. I’m happiest near the water. I’ve had a lot of rough patches throughout my life just as anyone else, although, I believe that without hardships in our lives we can never grow and overcome things we would never consider possible otherwise.

Who are your favorite authors to read? What is your favorite genre to read. Who Inspires you in your writings?

So many authors have a special talent for expressing their story. But I read such a wide variety of genre I couldn’t compare one to another. I read everything from urban fantasy, sci-fi and dramatic romances, to horror novels, true crimes, and classical dramas. There have only been a handful of books that were too dull or didn’t keep my interest enough to even finish it.

Author website?

www.omnijdelano.com

Do you have a Facebook page?

https://www.facebook.com/elementalguardian/

Twitter Account?

https://twitter.com/OmniDelano

What is the name of your latest book and what inspired it?

“Lily’s Awakening”

Do you have any unusual writing habits?

I still write things down with pencil and paper before typing it out.

What are you working on now?

I am working on book two of the Elemental Guardian series and a stand-alone novel that is a psychological thinker.

What is your best method or website when it comes to promoting your books?

I’m still figuring these things out.

Do you have any advice for new authors?

Keep writing. Finish the first draft, then edit. Otherwise, you will get stuck re-writing the first few chapter forever.

What is the best advice you have ever heard?

“Show, don’t tell”

What's next for you as a writer?

I have a series to finish and a horror novel in the future.

What is your favorite book of all time?

Impossible to say.

Give us a detailed blurb about your book:

Lily is the first of six women of prophecy. She is destined to sacrifice her heart to save the Guardian Dragon, but first, she must survive long enough to discover her abilities and the truth of her past. After losing her mother in a violent attack, Lily is forced to flee her home into the hidden land of the Eavalds, a people born of magic. As her past threatens to take everything she cares for away, Lily must find a way to fight for a world she never knew existed, with a man she doesn’t trust, and a destiny she can’t run away from.


No.

Featured Posts

/ RECENT POSTS

/ Archive
bottom of page