top of page

Author Interview: Peter Van Minnen


Interview with

Peter Van Minnen

Hi Peter +Welcome! What is the central theme of your novel?

The intrepid and eccentric explorers Professors Clarence and Wadji take you on a nail-biting journey through a number of ancient sacred sites around the world, using the mysterious Fate Book to guide them. They are joined by Professor Clarence’s niece and nephew Jess and Josh, who has intuitive abilities to rival the Fate Book’s.

The Fate Book will take you on a roller coaster ride, from Egypt to Peru, then on to Guatemala and the Himalayas and finally to the Emperor’s tomb in China, where the professors face one of their most perilous challenges ever!

What inspired you to write about this topic or subject?

When I began work on this series, I had no idea where I would end up. The idea was simply to write an enjoyable adventure yarn, blending fact with fiction; an easy read, something suitable for the young at heart. At that stage, it was not specifically aimed at the young adult reader, nor is it now.

What was your creative process?

As the characters took form in what is now called The Fate Book series, they took the lead in the development of the storyline. New characters just arrived on the pages as if by magic and insisted on being heard, and the story then became not one story, nor one book, but a series of stories and a series of books, all with a mysterious underlying thread.

Driven by these eccentric characters, things took shape and gathered momentum. A mysterious interactive artefact called The Fate Book, animated by an ancient sentience, became the centerpiece. This sentient book advises, guides and directs, as any good book should!

Sacred sites all over the world come in and out of focus. Fact blends with fiction. There is danger at every turn, and the reader might well be left breathless. The Fate Book is a unique creation, with a crazy sense of humour, and I have absolutely loved every minute of bringing it into the world! Though it seems to be a spontaneous creation, a great deal of research has gone into the writing of it.”

What tips would you give to an aspiring writer?

The best tip I’d give an aspiring writer, is to set out to have fun. And not to be motivated by fame or money, though both are a consequence of success. Oh, and to develop your own unique voice. And don’t overthink things.

Do you practice any other forms of art, or creative outlets? If yes, which ones, and why?

For nearly twenty years I practiced as a designer/architect. Because of that I have some pencil skills and have also held several successful exhibitions of my oil colors over the last 15 years. Around that time I also trained as an actor, took to the stage and toured with a number of professional companies. This has been a core in my writing: the development of characters and dialogue, based on my own experiences on stage. But really? I love anything creative, including cooking!

What is your purpose for writing over-all?

Writing has always been my abiding passion. I get a kick out of it. Seeing what comes next. It could be anything. There’s a certain kind of magic, when you’re in the flow.

How did you research for this project?

I researched actual archaeological sites all over the world, then blurred the edges a little

What are your goals for this novel, and over-all as an author?

The Fate Book has already expanded from one book into three, with the second book due out in May. I would love everyone to read it, its funny, entertaining and even a little mystical. Mostly I believe its an entertaining read. I suppose my goal as an author is to invent new ways of expression. To take my readers on a journey. Somewhere nice.

What are your favorite books?

Anything well written. Writing that engages all the senses, as well as the imagination. Favourite classics are Shakespeare, Alexander Dumas, Dickens and I have a thing for French writers, both classic and modern. ‘The Elegance of the hedgehog’ by Muriel Barberry. ‘The Red Notebook, by Antoine Laurain. And anything by Joanne Harris, especially ‘Chocolat’. But I’m a voracious reader. Just lately I’ve enjoyed ‘How to stop time’ by Matt Haig. Anything by Philip Pullman. Oh, and ‘Appetite’ by Philip Kazan. Too many to have to leave out here.

Who are your favorite authors?

TS Eliot, John Fowles. Tolkien, JK Rowling, Oscar Wilde, Jane Austen, Philip Kazan. Shakespeare, Tolstoy, Dostoevsky, Hermann Hesse,

Where can we buy your book?

You can buy ‘The Fate Book: The Emperor’s Tomb’ on Amazon, and its also available on Kindle and as an audiobook or Audible. The sequel, The Fate Book 2: The Tiger’s Nest’ will be released in May. A third book is planned.

How can we learn more about you, and where?I have two websites: www.petervanminnen.com or www.thefatebook.co.ukShare your other relative links:TBHOS EXTENDED INTERVIEW FOR VIRTUAL TOURSTell us a little about yourself. Where were you raised? I was raised in a tiny fishing village called Hermanus, sitting at the most southerly tip of Africa, not far from Cape Town. My father was a diver back then. He lived in the sea, on the sea, and so did us kids. We loved it! Every day was an adventure! In the winter months my dad repaired radios. He was a hi-fi enthusiast and built his own amplifiers. The house was always filled with music! Where do you live now?

I now live around thirty miles south of London, in a quiet green neighborhood. But I’m a train’s journey from the bustle of London, if I want that.

Do you have any pets?

I have two black cats. Jasper and Little Bear. Little Bear likes to curl up on my lap when I write and Jasper brings me gifts from the fields, which are not always so welcome…Feel free to use this as your opening introducing to new fans that may be interested in your writing. At what age did you realize your fascination with books? I have always loved books. In South Africa we didn’t get TV till the mid-seventies, so I grew up with books and the radio…We went to the library every three weeks and were allowed just three books. Usually I had read them all way before they were due back.

When did you start writing?

I started writing poems around thirteen years old, encouraged by my English teacher, I submitted poems to the school magazine.

I started experimenting, with sonnets, Iambic pentameter, blank verse. Then I moved on to short stories, plays and finally novels. Some of those early works sit in a box, and might never see the light of day. Some of it is really awful! But everything, all of that early writing, even the awful stuff, brought me here, to this point. Today.

Who are your favorite authors to read?

See above. But while I think about it now, I love new authors too. Too many to mention really. Books like ‘The Miniaturist’. Brilliant. Dark, but brilliant. Sometimes first novels are brimming with great ideas and even genius! What is your favorite genre to read. MMMM….Tricky….Favourite genre? I don’t have one. Okay, maybe, fantasy. But then again. I like biographies, of people who have lived interesting lives. Not pop stars though. I love books on cooking. History. Nature. Science. Art. Exploration. And of course, fiction of any kind.

Who Inspires you in your writings?

Feel free to elaborate here. I love good chidren’s authors. Obviously Jonathan Swift, Robert Louis Stevenson, Lewis Caroll, CS Lewis, JK Rowling, Ursula Le Guin, Tolkien. Philip Pullman. Roald Dahl. Somehow, these writers get to the deep places, in surprising ways. And also, you can’t easily fool kids…Author website? / If you have a website place it here. www.petervanminnen.com

Do you have a Facebook page?

https://www.facebook.com/thefatebook.co.uk/Twitter

Account ;http://twitter.com/@PeterMinnen

What is the name of your latest book and what inspired it?

My latest book is a complete departure from the genre of The Fate Book. It is a romantic novel for adult readers, called ‘The Fabulously Forgotten Fortunes of Fra Baldinelli’. It is set in Northern Italy, and is inspired by the ennui of modern life and a dream I once had. A couple, whose married life is a little stale, decide to take a road trip thru France and Italy. They head for the vineyards of Piedmont. But, using only fold out maps they lose their way, and end up in a tiny village, He goes into the bank to draw some money and when he comes back out she has disappeared. The whole story takes place over seven days, and has more than a little magic in it. But it is also about food, wine, friendship and love…Do you have any unusual writing habits? Yes. Once I used a typewriter with really cheap paper loaded into it. Now I use a very expensive Mont Blanc fountain pen, which is always on my person, sitting in a pocket. And I have notebooks everywhere. It drives me crazy! Sometimes I’ll find one, with notes scribbled in there, that I had totally forgotten about. And a new story unfolds. But I also use an iPad. Ancient and modern, I guess. I wish there was a proper modern equivalent of a typewriter, something that didn’t lead you on to the internet.

 

Featured Posts

/ RECENT POSTS

/ Archive
bottom of page